Geek Attends Wedding

Last week I had the honor of being a secondary sponsor for my high school friend’s wedding. Attending a wedding and reception is always interesting because generally it is, bluntly speaking, a very elaborate show.

Typically, an attendee just sits quietly at the pews, but that person’s thoughts is very active: how much was spent? are there any VIPs among the sponsors? and so on. The questions go on while seated and spectating at the reception’s designated round table: (again) how much was spent? how would I rate the quality of the food? Let’s face it, most guests think this way of weddings.

Not if you’re a certified geek.

I was surprised to find myself totally indifferent of the goings on at the wedding. Could you guess what my mind was focused on instead? Yes fellow geek, I thought of nothing else but the photography gear of the official photographers! During the ceremony, I was quietly scanning the photo coverage team and checking out what’s slinged on their necks. Find it funny? Then you’re not geeky enough.

Here are some (or should I say, a lot of) mental notes I made regarding the current status of the wedding photo coverage industry:

1. There is no brand loyalty: a team would have a mix of Canon and Nikon gear.

2. These guys don’t do entry level. Nothing below 50D (Canon) or D300 (Nikon). Makes sense, else they lose their cred if they cover a wedding using 1000D’s.

3. As a corollary to #2, pro cameras abound: D3x, D700, and 7D are staples. However, if I’m not mistaken, I didn’t see full frame cameras either.

4. Lenses to drool over: 50mm primes, Canon L lenses, 70-200mm zooms, etcetera. Surprisingly, I also saw a “token” Sigma lens attached to what probably is just a back-up camera. No place for kit lenses here folks.

5. Extensive use of live view. Something that simply wasn’t done in weddings two years ago.

6. Video recording using DLSR’s! Again something fairly new for wedding coverage. There were still dedicated prosumer camcorders, but DSLRs were also used probably for more angles and footage.

7. A whole lot of burst shooting. I know this is obvious, but I just had to mention it. If motorheads love the sound of revving V8’s, the rapid clapping sound that shutters make is just music to a geek’s ears. During the wedding ceremony, the cameras sounded almost like automatic rifles fired from a distance!

All in all, I had a great time attending the wedding, but with a totally different perspective. If you’re attending a wedding soon, try watching the other show happening in the background: the photographers and their gear in action!

P.S. Just so that this blog will contain a photo, here’s a jpeg taken before the wedding ceremony.

The Nuestra Senora de Gracia Parish church in Guadalupe taken by my wife using her Olympus E-410

Leave a Reply

