500D and EF-S 18-200mm Lens

Canon’s XXXD line of DSLRs is probably its most popular. Consistently it has offered superb value, producing high quality and high impact images despite being an entry level line. Several years back I got the chance to play around a friend’s 350D, which inspired me to buy my first DSLR, the 400D. I was so happy with my 400D, and it had served my photography needs very well. I’ve also gotten my hands on my brother-in-law’s 450D, albeit for just a few minutes. However, Canon’s latest 500D remains a stranger to me.

My wife’s nephew used a 500D and EF-S 18-200mm IS USM at my wedding last year. He was no pro photographer, just a regular bloke who cared about capturing good memories. It was only recently that he was able to give me copies of his photos, and I must say I was impressed at the results:

_____

_____

_____

_____

It was overcast on our wedding day, and there was a frosted glass canopy about 3 stories high of the facade of the chapel. This provided a very natural and subdued lighting. The photos above were taken at full 15MP resolution and ISO1600. As you can see, high ISO noise is essentially nullified when the image size is reduced. The photos were also taken between 70mm-90mm (35mm equivalent at 112-144mm). Shooting at this telephoto range produces beautiful backgrounds that are compressed and with a subtle yet satisfying bokeh. Kinda makes me want to invest in a telephoto lens.

Using the photos above to judge on, I’d have to say I’m impressed with the 500D (and the EF-S 18-200mm lens). That camera is capable of producing pro-quality images regardless of who is holding it. Considering on getting a 500D? I hope the photos above have convinced you more.

__________

Note: This blog serves 3 purposes — a micro review, to say thanks to Vincent for such beautiful photos, and to just pay tribute to my lovely wife from whom I have full support with my blog writing. 🙂

One thought on “500D and EF-S 18-200mm Lens

Leave a Reply

