I’m a Believer

I acknowledge that skin care products does have its benefits. I know that this sounds more “gay” than “geek” but take my advice: if your busy schedule only allows you to do a couple of skin care regimes, make sunscreens and moisturizers your top priority. Thank me later when you’re fifty.

Let’s zoom in at moisturizers. This also applies to us living in humid, tropical countries. For the body you can pretty much use any off the shelf lotion. Products that are labelled “for men” aren’t just marketing. Aside from having a masculine packaging and fragrance, these lotions tend to be lighter and less sticky (which is good, right?)

For the face, you have to be more discerning. While dabbing Vaseline on your mug is better than nothing, you should look for products that are more specialized for the face and neck. Products from Loreal and Nivea are ok. Some even have SPF blended in; perfect for the summer months (i.e. right now). Moisturize your face diligently and after a couple of weeks you will start to see improvements, from coarse and dry to firm and healthy looking.

There are more expensive stuff out there; the type you only read about in GQ Magazine i.e. Zirh, Clinique Men, Biotherm Homme, Kiehl’s, etc. I used to shy away from them thinking they’re just the same as the stuff you get at Watson’s and that the price premium is just highway robbery. This thinking changed when I got a sample sachet of Kiehl’s Facial Fuel Anti-Wrinkle Cream. Good thing I went in the store with my sis one time when she was out shopping (there’s another cameo of my sib in my blog again!).

No hyperbole, but this stuff is truly a miracle worker. Just after a couple of days using the sachet sample, I swear the lines on my forehead became more shallow somehow. I’m sold, and up there is a photo of my jar! This stuff is light, yet it feels like it fills the creases on my mug. And I can see the visual proof of the pudding…er…cream! The product is very pleasant too: it has that slightly nutty fragrance and just a wee bit of menthol that energizes. While Kiehl’s specifies it as anti-wrinkle, I pretty much apply a thin layer all over my face and neck, most especially after shaving.

This blog is a long ramble but the gist is: if you don’t want to look all shriveled up like a lonesome cowboy when you come of age, then get yourself a jar. Highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

