Bespoke

Lee Archive Exhibit

Today I participated at the Lee Denim DIY Workshop. It was the brand’s 125th Anniversary celebration, a brilliant marketing event designed to be deeply interactive with consumers. It was a unique and special experience to customize a blank “canvas” of raw Lee denim jeans and in the process, appreciate what really goes on in making a pair of jeans.

Lee Denim DIY Workshop

The event was held at Robinson’s Place Manila.

I’ve never owned a Lee jeans, so I guess this was an excellent opportunity to have my first pair. To start, I was given a pair of raw jeans. It was without rivets, buttons, leather patch, nor any washing, fading and distressing of any sort. But the blank denim was already special in itself: it had “125th Anniversary” tags and markings at the inside.

A special, limited (with serial numbers) batch of blank Anniversary Jeans was made just for this event!

A special, limited (with serial numbers) batch of blank Anniversary Jeans was made just for this event!

A menu was provided for me to choose the embellishments. This was the part that was most fun! Aside from the mandatory buttons and rivets, there was an option of adding decorative patches and monogramming of initials on the back leather patch.

Image courtesy of Lee Jeans Philippines.

Image courtesy of Lee Jeans Philippines.

And so I had my personalized jeans created by the jeansmiths onsite at the event. They hemmed it to my length for free and even offered a free Seattle’s Best Coffee drink so I can chill while they do their magic on my denim.

Jeansmith

The result is a priceless, one off pair that cannot be bought elsewhere. Rightfully, I chose the “125th Anniversary Celebration” leather patch, a couple of other decorative patches and rivets with faux crystals!

Monogrammed leather patch

I chose the button myself. And the rivets:  faux crystal for some bling!

I chose the button myself.  And the rivets: faux crystal for some bling!

One of a kind

You could say that I went all out on this one. I did skip the artificial fading and distressing; that I will put on myself, slowly and naturally as I wear it.

Tadaa! My very own creation!

Tadaa! My very own creation!

So there you have it, my very first creation of clothing. It may not be at par with what  famous fashion designers do, but it’s definitely exclusive. And I should mention that it fits very well too!

* All photos taken with a Sony Xperia Z1, uploaded without editing.

 

Leave a Reply

